OUR HISTORY

L’ORIGINE

The SAVA region is a tropical zone which suffers from cyclones which every year cause victims and destroy the already limited infrastructure.

In 2017, SAVA is severely affected by the cyclone Enawo, which took 80 lives and left 50 million dollars in damage in the country.

Faced with the despair caused by the lack of international aid to SAVA and its very large rural community, but also in front of the positive impact generated by the mobilization of international actors present on site, Matthieu Lougarre, CEO of Agri Resources Madagascar, and Frédéric Dalmasie, his partner in Monaco, decided to set up an association with the support of the Mayor of the Urban Commune of Antalaha, Eddie Fernand.

THE IDEA

The idea of the Inside Madagascar association was born: to implement various sustainable development projects in partnership with the clients of Agri Resources, an agro-food company specializing in vanilla, NGOs and humanitarian associations, as well as Malagasy officials.

THE VANILLA

Vanilla, which makes Madagascar's reputation, and of which the country is the world's largest producer, is mainly cultivated in the SAVA. However, because of the devastating cyclone, the "queen of spices" is also experiencing difficulties.

Despite a surge in prices, the remuneration of producers remains low and the quality level of Madagascan vanilla has significantly decreased:

    • Producers are forced to harvest immature vanilla for fear of theft
    • They only benefit from 16% of the price of prepared vanilla, most of it going to the many intermediaries (commission agents, agents, collectors) who promote their earnings to the detriment of quality.

Faced with this situation, Inside Madagascar is working to put the remuneration of producers back at the heart of the value chain by helping them to reduce intermediaries, while offering them solutions for sustainable and responsible agriculture.

INSIDE MADAGASCAR AUJOURD’HUI

In 2019, Inside Madagascar was established institutionally and became operational by forming an agricultural group: APVAM or Association des Planteurs de Vanille d'Ankavia Meva. APVAM currently brings together more than 600 producers in fifteen villages in Antalaha district: Ambohitsara, Agnorontany, Antsinasina, Ambatandolo, Ampatakamanitra, Antanambao, Ankazomena, Antanandava, Antsahantangatra, Antserasera, Marolambo, Ambarabaha, Andongikarozabe, Andambiro, Andrikarozabe.

Support us

By supporting Inside Madagascar, you empower the actors of change.

Your donation will help fund sustainable projects in Madagascar and Antalaha.

 

CONTACT US

MADAGASCAR ADDRESS

Lot ZK G 56A Secteur 4 Ankoalabe
206 Antalaha, Madagascar

ADDRESS Monaco

34, Avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco

Follow us for more updates

Subscribe to our newsletter

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

NOTRE HISTOIRE

L’ORIGINE

La région SAVA, zone tropicale, subit chaque année des cyclones causant des victimes ou détruisant le peu d’infrastructures existantes.

En 2017, la SAVA est durement touchée par le cyclone Enawo, qui emporte 80 vies et fait 50 millions de dollars de dégâts dans le pays.

Face au désespoir causé par le manque d’aide internationale vers la SAVA et sa communauté rurale très importante, mais aussi devant l’impact positif engendré par la mobilisation des acteurs internationaux présents sur place, Matthieu Lougarre, PDG de Agri Resources Madagascar, et Frédéric Dalmasie, son partenaire à Monaco, décident de constituer une association avec l’appui du Maire de la Commune Urbaine d’Antalaha, Eddie Fernand.

LE CONCEPT

Le concept de l’association Inside Madagascar est né : mettre en œuvre différents projets de développement durable en partenariat avec les clients d’Agri Resources, société agro-alimentaire spécialisée dans la vanille, des ONG et associations humanitaires, et les services publics malgaches.

LA VANILLE

La vanille, qui fait la réputation de Madagascar, et dont le pays est le premier producteur mondial, est cultivée majoritairement dans la SAVA.  Or, à cause du cyclone dévastateur, la « reine des épices » connaît elle aussi des difficultés.

Malgré une flambée des prix, la rémunération des producteurs reste faible et le niveau de qualité de la vanille malgache a bien diminué :

    • Les producteurs se voient obligés de récolter de la vanille immature par crainte des vols
    • Ils ne bénéficient que de 16% du prix de la vanille préparée, la majeure partie revenant aux nombreux intermédiaires (commissionnaires, mandataires, collecteurs) qui favorisent leurs gains au détriment de la qualité.

Face à cette situation, Inside Madagascar œuvre à remettre la rémunération des producteurs au cœur de la chaîne de valeur en les aidant à réduire les intermédiaires, tout en leur proposant des solutions pour une agriculture durable et responsable.

INSIDE MADAGASCAR AUJOURD’HUI

En 2019, Inside Madagascar est créée institutionnellement et devient opérationnelle en formant un groupement agricole : l’APVAM ou Association des Planteurs de Vanille d’Ankavia Meva. L’APVAM regroupe actuellement plus de 600 producteurs sur quinze villages du district d’Antalaha: Ambohitsara, Agnorontany, Antsinasina, Ambatandolo, Ampatakamanitra, Antanambao, Ankazomena, Antanandava, Antsahantangatra, Antserasera, Marolambo, Ambarabaha, Andongozabe, Andamboarivo, Andrikiriky.

Nous soutenir

En soutenant Inside Madagascar, vous habilitez les acteurs du changement.

Votre don aidera à financer des solutions durables pour Madagascar et Antalaha.

 

Nous CONTACTER

ADRESSE-MADAGASCAR

Lot ZK G 56A Secteur 4 Ankoalabe
206 Antalaha, Madagascar

ADRESSE-MONACO

34, Avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR FACEBOOK